The Seven of Cups portrays seven cups floating in the clouds. Each cup has an object jutting out of it. There is a man standing facing the cups with his hands half extended in astonishment. Although the man is standing with his back towards the viewers, his surprise is evident.

The clouds are representative of ideas, dreams, thoughts and aspirations. They also represent illusions and mystery. The objects coming out of the Cups are respectively - a Snake, a Shrouded Figure, a Human Head, a Tower, Treasure, a Laurel Wreath, and a Dragon.

Each object has its own significance. The snake represents wisdom and knowledge; the shrouded figure represents the need for illumination; the human head personifies a companion; the treasure implies abundance and wealth; the laurel wreath signifies honor, victory and recognition; and the dragon is a representation of supernatural forces.

Although the cups seem to be offering gifts or rewards to the person, however, there is always a hidden danger if a wrong choice is made. All of the offerings are tempting - it is just a matter of choice.

Upright Position: The Number Seven is all about overcoming trials and temptation. It is about making the right choices. Sometimes the right things come to us camouflaged - it is up to us to patiently unravel what is best for us, and follow that path. Without a well rationalized choice, the path may not lead to where expected. In a reading, this card warns that the dreams of the mind should be pursued only after seeing them through the lights of reality.

Reversed Position: Reversed, the Seven of Cups indicate temptation that can make the subject fog or improper choices. It may also signify insecurity, disinterest and lack of motivation. It may also imply that the subject is losing hope and needs to break through the fog of illusion to focus on the goals that would lead to resolution if issues affecting life.

Tarot Horoscope Tarot Card Decks Tarot Card Meanings

Major Arcana
Chariot Death Devil
Emperor Empress Fool
Hanged Man Hermit Judgment
Justice Lover(s) Bateleur (‘Magician’)
Moon Pope (‘Hierophant’) Popess (‘High Priestess’)
Star Strength Sun
Temperance Maison Dieu (‘Tower’) Wheel of Fortune

Minor Arcana
Ace of Coins Ace of Cups Ace of Swords
Ace of Batons Eight Coins Eight Cups
Eight Swords Eight Batons Five Coins
Five Cups Five Swords Five Batons
Four Coins Four Cups Four Swords
Four Batons King of Coins King of Cups
King of Swords King of Batons Knight of Coins
Knight of Cups Knight of Swords Knight of Batons
Nine Coins Nine Cups Nine Swords
Nine Batons Queen of Coins Queen of Cups
Queen of Swords Queen of Batons Seven Coins
Seven Cups Seven Swords Seven Batons
Six Coins Six Cups Six Swords
Six Batons Ten Coins Ten Cups
Ten Swords Ten Batons Three Coins
Three Cups Three Swords Three Batons
Two Coins Two Cups Two Swords
Two Batons Valet of Coins Valet of Cups
Valet of Swords Valet of Batons