Father’s Day marks the day to celebrate fathers and father figures who contribute significantly in one’s life. The most popular date that is accepted in most countries for Father’s day is the third Sunday of June, although there are variations in the date of observance in some parts of the globe.


The Early tradition of Father’s Day was to celebrate it in honor of Saint Joseph. There are two variations to this celebration:

    • In Catholic countries the day has been celebrated on 19th March since the Middle Age


    • In Coptic churches this day has been celebrated on 20th July since the fifth century


This custom of celebrating St Joseph’s Day as Father’s Day on 19th March still prevails in some countries like Belgium, Bolivia, Croatia, Italy, Mozambique, Portugal and Spain to name some.

In the United States

    • Father’s Day was first started by Grace Golden Clayton on July 5, 1908 but it was unsuccessful in becoming a nation-wide celebration.


    • On June 19, 1910, Father’s Day was celebrated by Sonora Smart Dodd in her father’s memories but it did not gain recognition.


    • In 1966 the first presidential proclamation was made by President Lyndon B. Johnson to honor fathers.


    • After six years, President Richard Nixon signed it to be a national holiday.


    • Thus the third Sunday in June came to be celebrated as Father’s Day in the United States.


Few countries across the world have adopted different dates to celebrate Father’s Day depending on local customs and traditions. For Example:

Russia February 23 as “Defender of the Fatherland Day”
South Korea May 8 as Parents’ Day
Germany Thursday forty days after Easter as  Ascension Day
Denmark June 5 also Constitution Day
Thailand December 5 on the birthday of their King Bhumibol
Romania Second Sunday in May
Uruguay Second Sunday in July
Nepal Between August 30 and September 30 as Bhadrapada Amavasya (Gokarna Aunsi)

Here are the dates for Father’s Day for the next decade, i.e. till 2027:

  • June 18, 2017
  • June 17, 2018
  • June 16, 2019
  • June 21, 2020
  • June 20, 2021
  • June 19, 2022
  • June 18, 2023
  • June 16, 2024
  • June 15, 2025
  • June 21, 2026
  • June 20, 2027